Ender 3 not recognizing new firmware on uSD card

Hey folks… absolute newbie to working with MS Visual Studio and editing firmware, so likely there are some “rules” that I’m unaware of that are causing my problem.

Trying to add a BL Touch ABL (further hardware upgrades planned), and need to update the firmware so it will ‘see’ the hardware and work.

My issue isn’t so much with MS V S or editing the code… I can make the necessary changes okay, and it compiles successfully, but when I burn the compiled firmware (“firmware.bin”) to an 8MB uSD card formatted to fat32, and insert the card into the card socket on the display (BTT TFT35 -v- 3.0), the machine just boots as normal, no pause, no black screen, no status messages… and also no BL Touch options.

Does the firmware file have to have a different name that the firmware that’s already in the machine (such as firmware_bl.bin or some such)?? Does it have to be the ONLY file on the card (it has been, so far)??

I also tried bypassing the display card socket and insert the uSD directly into the BTT SKR MINI E3 -v- 2.0, but it is similarly ignored. It appears that I can’t get the machine to acknowledge the presence of firmware at all. It does read the card and it’s contents… just doesn’t install the firmware.

I’m sure I’m missing some basic thing, and I’d appreciate any suggestions or pointers to subjects I should dig into. Thanks!!

You probably corrupted your TFT35 board by trying to load Marlin firmware on it. Go find a TFT35 update, use a clean mSD card download the firmware on it insert the SD card in the TFT35, it will take a minute or so to load. Once that is complete turn the printer off, insert the mSD card with marlin firmware.bin into the SKR board. Turn on the printer and the firmware.bin should load correctly.